Ballets on screen: January 2020 to June 2020

A New Year comes in and with it yet more wonderful ballets to enjoy on screen.

As always it is best to check out the details with your local cinema / theatre.

I would like to recommend The Royal Ballet’s double bill of The Cellist, a new ballet by Cathy Marston, inspired by Jacqueline du Pré’s momentous life and career. It is coupled with a rare opportunity to see Jerome Robbins’s ballet, Dances at a Gathering.
This elegant and elegiac classic forms the second part of the programme. An exercise in pure dance for five couples, set to music by Chopin, it is a masterpiece of subtlety and invention. For those of you who came to my talk: Jerome Robbins: the man behind West Side Story, this will be a wonderful chance to see one of Robbins’s ballets.

Here is the full schedule of forthcoming ballets on screen:

Thu 16 Jan (1915) The Royal Ballet: The Sleeping Beauty

Mon 20 Jan (Times vary, please check) The Royal Ballet Encore: The Sleeping Beauty

Sun 26 Jan (1500) The Bolshoi Ballet: Giselle

Sun 23 Feb (1500) The Bolshoi Ballet: Swan Lake

Tue 25 Feb (1915) The Royal Ballet: The Cellist (Cathy Marston);  Dances at a Gathering (Jerome Robbins)

Mon 2 Mar (Times vary, please check) The Royal Ballet: The Cellist (Cathy Marston); Dances at a Gathering (Jerome Robbins)

Sun 29 Mar (Times vary, please check) The Bolshoi Ballet: Romeo and Juliet (Recorded 2020)

Wed 1 Apr (1915) The Royal Ballet: Swan Lake

Mon 6 Apr (Times vary, please check) The Royal Ballet Encore: Swan Lake

Sun 19 Apr (1600) The Bolshoi Ballet: Jewels (Live 2020)

Thu 28 May (1915) The Royal Ballet: The Dante Project

Mon 1 June (Times vary, please check) The Royal Ballet Encore: The Dante Project

Bridgett

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close